Ghost

Poetry

A ghost speaks to me through the radio

Black grated speakers deliver his voice,

That long gone voice to my ears.

I sit passively, listening to the words

I’ve heard them so many times before

He appears in the seat next to me

Our eyes meet and it’s like looking into

My own – I smell him, voice muffled

By rain it’s just us in this box and suddenly

I’m a kid again. He teaches me to dance,

I practice during the week.

Saturday morning arrives and I feel him

Lying next to me, I smell a long

Arduous night, the remnants of smoke

I can’t help myself, I smile and

Go back to sleep

The voice stops and I’ve returned

To this car and the sound of rain

Still pounding outside, washing me

Clean

Leave a Reply

