Insomnia Poem1

Poetry

dew forms on grass

just outside

my door, ajar

lets dark creep in

heavy bass undertones

wafting: freshness

smells of wet grass.

I sip juice from

the hand of god.

iris seeks movement

breathe in shadows

I mock their missteps

dancing on walls

I walk down

one cool breeze

slips music in

one note passes

words appear music

in my head

look out that window!

stars look down

they’re all helicopters

I thought, looking

for my parents

a riff I’ve heard before

but I realize

it’s just stars

searchlights long gone

dew condensed clouds

above, eyes red-shot

Leave a Reply

